Library Thing…. I’m just not that into you.

Library Wanderer puts it so very succinctly that I’m not sure I should bother trying to add anything… just knowing that there’s a book called “Did David Hasselhof end the cold war”  (£4.75 will never be better spent)has made my life immeasurably richer.

but I suppose I should add my pennyworth…

I have to say that it would never ever in the world of a month of Sundays when every single Sunday had a blue moon occur to me to … hoot… catalogue my own books! ahahhahahahahahahha.

Not only would I be rubbish at it, but what on earth is the point???

Every one has to amuse themselves in their own way, and I will admit to buying a second copy of Cats Eye by the glorious  Margaret Atwood from the wonderful Alnwick Barter Books, within weeks of buying the first copy (see the covers, I could be forgiven for not linking the 2 couldn’t I?) but I blame that on woosiness brought on by a fine all day breakfast…. (ps have just finished The Year of the Flood, and loved loved it – v good indeed, though will have to re-read Oryx and Crake now since they’re very interconnected…..)

Anyway, back to LibraryThing, yes I know, but we really must …. I’ve given it a try as a possible way of presenting our Clinical Medicine reading lists a couple of years ago, because we thought the benefits of presenting the book covers was just too tempting to resist but, my goodness, it was a right pain to enter the data, and then once you’d found each book (not all of which actually had a cover, though most did, I admit), the link to Newton which we wanted to include was so invisible as to make it practically pointless. My tags in http://www.librarything.com/profile/SciPort are the Clinical Medicine (CM) ones – see if you can find the link to Newton for http://www.librarything.com/work/231986/book/36838359 for example… so, need more time…… not spotted it yet??? frankly I’m not surprised, and it just proves my point.

So, no, LibraryThing – I’m really just not that into you…..


10 Responses to Library Thing…. I’m just not that into you.

  1. Found it!

    But it’s broken:

    “Not Found

    The requested URL /cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi was not found on this server.”

  2. Emma says:

    Another Barter Books! That shop made me want to move to Alnwick, I had some very bored friends by the time they managed to drag me away after about an hour and a half!

  3. libchris says:

    I’ll second that – far to easy to spend money (and eat cake) there.

  4. Anna says:

    I quite agree. Library thing seems to be for people who want to play at being a Librarian. Fortunately as real librarians we have much better tools to catalogue other books. And as you say, who would want to?

  5. Library Wanderer says:

    Gosh, thanks for the mench (I know all this media studies lingo, don’t you know). But apparently it’s not as ridiculous a book title as first thought, Sarah reminded me that his “song” brought down the Berlin Wall…

  6. cjbsinfo says:

    Just browsing through your blog and realise that I have just written a blog post on LibraryThing with exactly the same title. Completely coincidental – honest!

  7. Kirsty Taylor says:

    Sorry the comment from CJBSinfo was from me! Logged into wordpress for more than one blog – doh!

Leave a Reply

